Bicep’s Essential Mix debut is a must-listen for house heads

“Are you oiled up and ready to flex?” asks Pete Tong at the start of this week’s Essential Mix. With Bicep at the wheel of the long-running series for the first time, that answer had better be a hearty yes.

In the years since Matt McBriar and Andy Ferguson banded together in 2008, the Feel My Bicep brand has grown from a small blog into an international production outfit, record label and all-around party. Their music ethos is all about having fun and being cheeky, but genre-hopping tracks like Satisfy and Simian Mobile Disco collaboration Sacrifice pack a serious punch on the dancefloor – various residencies at the Warehouse Project and Space Ibiza can attest to that.

Ahead of the mix, the boys shared their approach to the brief, explaining they took care to create a mix that reflected their club sets, but would also be suitable for home listening. “It was an honour to be asked to contribute to a mix series which we have been listening to throughout our teens growing up in Belfast,” they said. “In this mix we tried to cover quite a lot of ground, across a fairly wide spectrum of our taste, whilst still keeping it club focused.”

Check out the two-hour go below, where you’ll fall into Bicep’s intoxicating world, featuring appearances from the likes of Herbert, Neville Watson, Mr. G, Agoria, Minilogue, Carl Cox and more – plus, there’s a sneak-peek of the duo’s forthcoming Lyk Lyk EP.



Hammer & Bicep – I Believe

Morten Sorenson – Start Something (40 Thieves Remix)

Ray Mang & Foolish Felix – Who Said Boogie? (Who Said Beats)

Daniel Jacques – End Of My World

Times Are Ruff – Cut2

Herbert – People That Make The Music (Bonus Track)

Kingpin Cartel – Ghetto

Jacques Renault – Got To Believe

Danell Dixon – Touch Me (Touch Da Drums)

Dionne – Feel Da Rain (D’Pac Dub)

John Swing – Don’t Want It

Ellis D – My Loleatta (Dish Apella)

Art Crime – Release

Neville Watson – Songs To Elevate Pure Hearts (KiNK & Rachel Remix)

Anil Aras – Dance MF

Sleezy D – I’ve Lost Control (Clap Tool)

Bicep – Day 3

Mr. G – Back To Love

Agoria – La 11Eme Marche (Rollercoaster Mix)

Nathan Fake – Falmer

John Lawrence – Prototype For DJs Not Born Yet

Hammer & Bicep – Untitled

Jerome Sydenham & Dennis Ferrer – Timbuktu (Pan African Electro Dub)

Minilogue – Elephant’s Parade

Solaires – Strange Encounters (HVCK Remix)

Deadboy – Return

Bicep – Desire (Bootleg)

EOD – Phontron (030303 Mix)

Energy 52 – Café Del Mar (Bicep Remix)

Carl Cox – I Want You

View Comments