Tiesto 'Elements of Life' @ Festival Hall, Melbourne (26/04/08)

Image for Tiesto 'Elements of Life' @ Festival Hall, Melbourne (26/04/08)

The rain fell, and in keen anticipation the masses lined outside the perimeter of Festival Hall to experience the ‘Elements of Life’ showcase well before the clock was telling us it was time to begin. Slowly building to the start of a great night with crescendo beats and strobe lasers filling the air, the crowd started to warm up to the tunes of the support slot. While picking up a drink or two and in between meeting up with friends, the heat and pure happy energy that is in the air during the wait for the Grammy award-winning DJ starts to build. There is a rush to the main stage, a silence and then a roar of appreciation when the lasers and pyrotechnics explode to reveal the main man.

The beats and mixes dropped by Tiesto were so well tuned to the interactive laser and visual displays brought over from his homeland, that it was all a natural progression throughout the night. Out on the weathered hard wood dancefloor where many rock punters had stomped, there was now a smiling and pumped gathering all with water bottles in hand, dancing to a different beat, who all so grateful when the air conditioning was switched on to full force. If you weren’t moving to the ‘Elements of Life’ set or staring in awe at the coordinated music-to-screen visuals and lighting, then you were up on the balcony or side seat areas taking some time to chill with friends. And this is where the rave circles really got into it. Gathering momentum into their zone, timing the spins and shuffles to the soundwaves before taking a seat or heading outside to catch some chilled air. The smokers gathered together in the small corners hiding from the rain, and the buzz from the people that I talked to was amazing. Tiesto is really getting through to people, and his sell out shows in Melbourne alone prove his worth to the dance scene.

Usually I go to the big outdoor summer festivals, where there’s always something to distract you if you get bored. But there was no need for distraction this time as the guy delivered, and wel land truly catered to the crowd. It was amazing how the crowd and the DJ are so in tune, there is literally a buzz. With 2 hours to go everyone is not wasting a minute on the bar lines. Despite being messy with bottles and tired patrons, the floor is packed and the uplifting, faster trance picks up as the crowd bring it home, preparing them for the big lights and beautifully choreographed dance sequence on the digital screen that we’re treated to for the remainder. Energised and ready with more effects, Tiesto encourages the roar and his stage show takes it up another notch. And the Elements of Life set was well worth it to the very end. Punters who actually got body parts signed by the DJ were beyond happy, and the swell of sweaty bodies with smiles was testament to how happy everybody left the show.

Social

Comments

www.inthemix.com.au arrow left
Comment Added
AVB_No_1

AVB_No_1 said on the 28th Apr, 2008

FUCK IT WAS A AMAZING NIGHT!!! I WISH IT DIDN'T HAVE TO END, HE PLAYED THE BEST TRACKS, AND CLOSED WITH A MONSTER 'ADAGIO FOR STRINGS' - WHAT A FUCKIN' NIGHT

sylvsky13

sylvsky13 said on the 28th Apr, 2008

After eagerly waiting for 4 years for Tiesto to come back to Australia, a group of us travelled all the way from Perth to go see him play his magic.. He kept pumping the music higher and higher even after you though it couldn't get any higher, with hit af

barkus

barkus said on the 29th Apr, 2008

great review - really captured the feeling of the eve nicely Sirendoll!

nikki_s

nikki_s said on the 29th Apr, 2008

I went and saw the Sunday nights show, and was not overly impressed. After seeing Tiesto 4 years ago when he did Together on NYE this was a little bit dull. The crowd wasnt what I expected, and I was really hoping Tiesto would pump out some hard tracks ea

Nezzie

Nezzie said on the 29th Apr, 2008

Is it just me, or is this an incomplete review of the night? I seem to know everything about the night (the description of what was happening around is great) except for the music itself, and how good/bad Tiesto really was (I think he deserves a more d

trance_barbie

trance_barbie said on the 29th Apr, 2008

Saturday nights concert was the BEST time of my life EVER! Tiesto was absolutely amazing. Words cant even describe the excitement in the air and the power he held over the crowd. I have been waiting four long years to get the chance to see this TRANCE GOD

Gspot

Gspot said on the 30th Apr, 2008

OMG I'm so excited...thanks for your reviews of the night guys...i'm going to this Sat's show in Sydney and I can't waitttt. I missed out on seeing him 4yrs ago so i've pretty much waited a decade!! I'm sure everyone has their own opinions of their expe

Gspot

Gspot said on the 30th Apr, 2008

Btw how long was his set? i heard it was only 3hrs?

trashberry

trashberry said on the 3rd May, 2008

how long was his set? what tracks did he play?

R1POWER

R1POWER said on the 4th May, 2008

After waiting 4 yrs for this so called techno god to play I have to say it was one of the worst ever. Firstly The venue festival hall should be bulldozed into the ground and its a disgrace that a world class DJ played in such a rank and scummy s#$t hole.

R1POWER

R1POWER said on the 4th May, 2008

Sorry I have to vent. After 4 yrs of waiting and 2 decades of raves this show was a sub standard event. The venue sucked I cant believe a #1 DJ would even walk into such a dive. After playing ther likes Iplema and global gathering I truly wonder what he r

MattyL

MattyL said on the 6th May, 2008

R1Power you are a total tool. First of all the other venues in Melbourne that could have held a larger Tiesto show were booked (Foo Fighters and other events that i can't remember). So Festival Hall was the best option. I thought the sound and the layout

summerday

summerday said on the 6th May, 2008

RIPOWERr-YOUR A LOSER

the_pez69

the_pez69 said on the 6th May, 2008

how do you write your own review of an event? i went to the thurs show and this does indeed sound like an incomplete review! and for those of you dissing the show...wtf were you on? id say some unhappy pills! im not a trance fan but i absolutely loved ev

sirendoll83

sirendoll83 said on the 12th May, 2008

The crowd was really young and they did not know the older sets from 5 years ago unless they were hardcore fans. I think the venue was ok but it felt like a disco hall. Another venue for next time or getting Tiesto to play a festival set would be great. H

vampyro

vampyro said on the 15th Jun, 2008

R1POWER u cant tell the diff between techno and trance?? why are u even at the event u noob?! Tiesto's events has the best light/laser shows than any dj..even armin sad to say.