Digitalism - Fritz Mix

Image for Digitalism - Fritz Mix

If you think back to the boom of the European electro scene around 2006/2007, among the heaviest hitters in the group was German two-piece Digitalism. Then releasing through hipper than the average boutique label Kitsune, the duo blended the fat, distorted synth sounds that were blowing with a clear appreciation for song structure and ear-winning hooks, as heard on jams like Pogo, Idealistic and Echoes from their debut LP Idealism.

Fast forward to 2011 and Digitalism are returning to a very different scene with new album I Love You Dude. Out on July 1st it finds the duo sticking to what they know while showing off how much they’ve grown up since we last saw them in studio-mode four years ago.

“I think that every body moves on and we certainly have too,” Digitalism told inthemix in our interview over summer. “We’ve changed a bit. I think it’s going to be more sophisticated this time. We still like to keep things simple because we really like simplicity but definitely more sophisticated. I think it’s because we got a bit older. We just don’t want to repeat ourselves. We’re really excited about it.”

To get fans excited for the new album, Digitalism prepared a very special DJ mix for fans which features some of their favourite tunes of the moment from Erol Alkan, Deadmau5, Gesaffelstein and Light Year as well as a slew of previously unreleased Digi jams.


01. Metronomy – The Bay / Erol Alkan Remix / Because Music
02. Digitalism – 2 Hearts / Rory Phillips Remix / V2
03. Grauzone – Traum / Ata Remix / Robert Johnson Records
04. Digitalism – The Pictures / Never Released
05. Feadz – Dial / Light Year Remix / Ed Banger Records
06. The Hacker & Geschaffelstein – Embrance / Zone 4 Records
07. Falco – Der Kommisar
08. Digitalism – Gohst Town / Never REleased
09. Falco – Der Kommisar
10. Digitalism – Silenz / V2
11. Foo Fighters – Rope / DeadMau5 Remix / ??????
12. Digitalism – Encore / V2