Gaming, Computers, Phones, and Gadgets

HTPC build. You win, dairy.

Reply
  Tools
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Everything is removable

Of course I have just specced the optical drive in so I don't plans on takings it out. As for power LED(s), I will probably lean towards darkening them rather than disconnecting. Bling lights in the fan will have their wires cut and ritually burned though. I mean seriously, I am seriously, what is wrong with people.

Other news, I've got a shipping notice already, fnarr! Doubt it'll show up in the gong tomorrow though, but imagine if
NismoR31 +

NismoR31's Avatar
Joined
Feb '02
Times thanked
< 9,206
Posts
31,087
you could have THREE days of tinkering with new :things:
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500


\o/

The mobo is so cute.
diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gruso View Post


The mobo is so cute.


http://hahgay.com/
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
More shitty phone pics. First boot, only roughly together. Missed one of the fan LEDs, ugh.



The PSU is so deliciously quiet. Front bling fan isn't too bad noise wise, but I'll probably replace it with something quiter. CPU fan too. Haven't bothered connecting the top case fan.

The drive bays with their vibration-absorbing rubber grommets are all very fancy, but the bays themselves (like everything else) are solid mounted to the case. No grommets on the optic drive either, and there's a bit of vibration there. So I have some additional sound dampening to do.

Not much else to say right now. It's a computer. SSDs are fast hey. Only two band-aids on my fingers so far. Things will get more fun when it's in place at home and I can set up software, superior input etc. [edit] Oh and my boss custom dust filters.
big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
My housemate built a htpc last night with some leftover parts. He's using some supercutdown xbmc distro. It has ssh but no /sbin/shutdown and no passwd srs. It's Linux, but not as you know it. Elecpc or something like that.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Jah, OpenElec. They've got that running on the Raspberry Pi now.
big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
There is something about the ability to enable ssh but have the only available login as root with a default, unchangable password that makes my eye twitch.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
That's unfathomable actually.

Related: Running Debian on the RPi. Password for default user is 'raspberry' which I always miskey, so I change it to (eg.) 'xd8256'. It denies the change, because the password is 'too simple'. But it allows me to set the root password to 'root'.
big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
@gruso - http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title..._PS3_BD_Remote

Quote:

Originally Posted by gotamangina View Post

I hate it when you're right and I'm not.

Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Ah thanks but I'm running Windows And probably using a Wiimote. Thankfully, XBMC makes it about that complicated no matter what the OS or device.
big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
the xbmc thingo for the ipad is pretty nifty - does all the imdb lookups for the movie you are watching and shit.

Quote:

Originally Posted by gotamangina View Post

I hate it when you're right and I'm not.

Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Final pics.







A few things to do, but basically job done. Thanks for all the advice gents, esp. rancho & dairy, who wins.
diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972
looks pretty fucking sweet, apart from that blinding blue light!

Defo do some research into replacing that front fan with something quieter.
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.
rancho +

Oooooooh such a good time

rancho's Avatar
Joined
May '05
Times thanked
< 7,082
Posts
22,110
tidy setup and nice cable management. a+ htpc. jelly

Quote:

Originally Posted by jarrardscott View Post

well, according to dictionary.com
chilli is hot pepper food etc.
chilly is cold temperature.

Bism +

Bism's Avatar
Joined
Mar '08
Times thanked
< 18,187
Posts
21,677
What does it do that a PS3 doesn't?
SPOKEYDOKEY +

cephalapod chewing legend

SPOKEYDOKEY's Avatar
Joined
Mar '01
Times thanked
< 2,750
Posts
22,359
Makes rancho jelly.
Everyone knows your snorkeling is just a cover for transition to Aqua Aerobics.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bism View Post

What does it do that a PS3 doesn't?

Games.
diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bism View Post

What does it do that a PS3 doesn't?

The pure simplicity of being able to download, watch, organise, do practically everything on the one box without having to worry about other devices/configurations/network issues/whatever - just beats everything else hands down.

I've been down the network player path with the mediagate and tvix previously, and again with my parents wdtv. There's always a catch, and always something that performs less well than it should.

Also, unlimited codec support.
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.

Last edited by diarx: 13-Jun-12 at 11:38pm

diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bism View Post

What does it do that a PS3 doesn't?

Also, Jokes.
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Repostin' here, because GGG knows the chat thread will be well nuked two years from now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gruso View Post

Right then. Pair wiimote like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_pQSGYzfKU (I hadn't done the last step, not even sure if it mattered)

Install Glovepie: http://glovepie.org/glovepie.php (beware of the xenu)

Add this script: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php...3543#pid313543

Add this to Windows startup:

Code:
C:\Wiimote\GlovePIE045Free\PIEFree.exe C:\Wiimote\GlovePIE045Free\WiimoteScripts\_XBMC.PIE /run /tray /r "C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\xbmc.exe"
Hold 1+2 on wiimote to activate (per session).

Pretty fantastic having classic XBMC media control (d-pad 1min/10min seeking 4lyf), but the wiimote has some issues. It's always on, draining the battery. If you turn it off, chances are you won't be able to re-pair it without restarting Glovepie and XBMC first. Getting the kbd/mouse out to do that kind of breaks the whole idea of running XBMC.

Another option to manage pairing is: http://www.bluesoleil.com

Might give that a go.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueSoleil

What a wonderful product! Would you like to enjoy it?

Last edited by Gruso: 16-Jun-12 at 10:47am

big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
now to find an appropriate photo for the GGG meme
diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gruso View Post

Repostin' here, because GGG knows the chat thread will be well nuked two years from now.



Pretty fantastic having classic XBMC media control (d-pad 1min/10min seeking 4lyf), but the wiimote has some issues. It's always on, draining the battery. If you turn it off, chances are you won't be able to re-pair it without restarting Glovepie and XBMC first. Getting the kbd/mouse out to do that kind of breaks the whole idea of running XBMC.

Another option to manage pairing is: http://www.bluesoleil.com

Might give that a go.

Would it have been easier to buy a wiimote clone like the eee stick or that razer motion controller?
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
I did. It was a bad idea and I should feel bad. It doesn't work without the awful included software running (AIWI steam-like rubbish, urggh). I'm trying to find a way around that. Else, might just run a USB cable under the rug and use a SNES or N64 pad. Sounding better every minute actually.

Anyone want a GENIUS WIZARD STICK? It comes with Virtua Tennis 2009. For you cheap.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
USB cable round the room into the SNES pad, mutha******.

Using Xpadder for keymapping atm, but I'll probably ditch that and map the pad directly in XBMC. Kinda stunned that it still makes you edit XML files for that though. What am I, a farmer?
rancho +

Oooooooh such a good time

rancho's Avatar
Joined
May '05
Times thanked
< 7,082
Posts
22,110
ruh roh, impatient gruso, intel has announced entry level desktop i3 launching june 24 now

Quote:

Originally Posted by jarrardscott View Post

well, according to dictionary.com
chilli is hot pepper food etc.
chilly is cold temperature.

Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
****balls I knew that would happen.
rancho +

Oooooooh such a good time

rancho's Avatar
Joined
May '05
Times thanked
< 7,082
Posts
22,110
the rest of the world is grateful for you though, coz intel would have waited till q3 if you didn't buy a sandy bridge.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jarrardscott View Post

well, according to dictionary.com
chilli is hot pepper food etc.
chilly is cold temperature.

SPOKEYDOKEY +

cephalapod chewing legend

SPOKEYDOKEY's Avatar
Joined
Mar '01
Times thanked
< 2,750
Posts
22,359
been combining three threads at once, got an old core2duo intel mobo box with ubuntu running on it and xbmc on top of that. the main hd's a 250gb sata, got an old 500gb drive with all my linux iso's to watch and threw a hdmi card (amd hd 5450) into it.

got sound and vision now, had a good opportunity to actually use therefore get started on using the command line, and to top it off i've been using the hp touchpad as a remote.

and to think my gf calls me a nerd.
Everyone knows your snorkeling is just a cover for transition to Aqua Aerobics.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Noice!
SPOKEYDOKEY +

cephalapod chewing legend

SPOKEYDOKEY's Avatar
Joined
Mar '01
Times thanked
< 2,750
Posts
22,359
next up will be a mini-itx version with a Asus AT5IONT-I mobo lying around, it's got two sata onboard so i'll be looking at an ssd and and slim line bluray drive then attaching to a nas. as i'm getting through them i'm starting to look at 'hmmm, who would this be good for?'
Everyone knows your snorkeling is just a cover for transition to Aqua Aerobics.
SPOKEYDOKEY +

cephalapod chewing legend

SPOKEYDOKEY's Avatar
Joined
Mar '01
Times thanked
< 2,750
Posts
22,359
So i just jizzed in my pants. A lot. Watching the following vid off youtube ON MY TV and hearing it through multiple speakers. Hold on...I just came.

Media Player
William Orbit - Water From A Vine Leaf - YouTube

Spoiler:

Media Player
I've Just Cum - YouTube
Everyone knows your snorkeling is just a cover for transition to Aqua Aerobics.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
I know that feel, bro. I experienced similar joy last week when I realised that my favourite F1 streaming provider has an XBMC plugin. Which means no more rubbish browser navigating, window resizing etc. Just pick a channel with my remote, and instant fullscreen racetimes.

Fuckin' HTPCs <3
Joe-Trojan +

distorted distortion

Joe-Trojan's Avatar
Joined
Jun '09
Times thanked
< 69
Posts
1,523
How is everyone getting their PC to force 1080p into their Full HD screens? My fkn win7 will not deviate from the default generic shit monitor driver that maxes out at a whopping 1360 x 768.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Could be your screen. I have no problem with autodetection on my Sammy TV and BenQ monitor (both native 1080), but when I tested on my old man's shitty TV that claims to be 1080, it's stuck at 768 like yours.

I believe it's an issue with the display reporting back to Windows what it wants to be set at.
big eddie +

Got soju?

big eddie's Avatar
Joined
Jan '03
Times thanked
< 15,790
Posts
50,252
Is this over hdmi?
Joe-Trojan +

distorted distortion

Joe-Trojan's Avatar
Joined
Jun '09
Times thanked
< 69
Posts
1,523
Gruso that is the exact issue and my feeble hack attemts were simply greeted with laughter.

dvi -> hdmi. I just installed latest drivers, now I have 1920 x 696 haha. The screen is a awesome but shitty TCL. I havn't tried it on the Pana but it's next on the "to do" list.
Flathead_21 +

Registered User

Flathead_21's Avatar
Joined
Oct '04
Times thanked
< 240
Posts
11,757
I just discovered that my new TV doesn't support 1080p over VGA, which is a bit shit
2012 model Panasonic and it just doesn't do it.
.



Chippie +

dm6

Chippie's Avatar
Joined
Oct '05
Times thanked
< 1,472
Posts
7,598
The TV is trying to tell you not to use VGA in 2012.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jarrardscott View Post

guessing im really slow on this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derelict View Post

It's called being a tradie, dickhead.

Eh... my gay friend that works in IT recommended them to me

UMGAWA +

UMGAWA's Avatar
Joined
Feb '07
Times thanked
< 4,176
Posts
5,154
Super VGA is where its at.
NismoR31 +

NismoR31's Avatar
Joined
Feb '02
Times thanked
< 9,206
Posts
31,087

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flathead_21 View Post

I just discovered that my new TV doesn't support 1080p over VGA, which is a bit shit
2012 model Panasonic and it just doesn't do it.

that would be because VGA can't handle that amount of bandwidth
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Get a VGA to HDMI converter, run HDMI cable to the TV, then convert it back to VGA.
Joe-Trojan +

distorted distortion

Joe-Trojan's Avatar
Joined
Jun '09
Times thanked
< 69
Posts
1,523
After hours of toil I have succeeded for the most part. My fresh "custom made" .inf file has only PC modes and defaulted to a 29hz refresh rate upon installation but it allows me to go in and create custom modes. 48Hz at 1920 x 1080 it is for now on the el cheapo TCL.
UMGAWA +

UMGAWA's Avatar
Joined
Feb '07
Times thanked
< 4,176
Posts
5,154

Well that might have something to do with it.
Chippie +

dm6

Chippie's Avatar
Joined
Oct '05
Times thanked
< 1,472
Posts
7,598

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joe-Trojan View Post

After hours of toil I have succeeded for the most part. My fresh "custom made" .inf file has only PC modes and defaulted to a 29hz refresh rate upon installation but it allows me to go in and create custom modes. 48Hz at 1920 x 1080 it is for now on the el cheapo TCL.

Gruso alias imo

Quote:

Originally Posted by jarrardscott View Post

guessing im really slow on this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derelict View Post

It's called being a tradie, dickhead.

Eh... my gay friend that works in IT recommended them to me

Joe-Trojan +

distorted distortion

Joe-Trojan's Avatar
Joined
Jun '09
Times thanked
< 69
Posts
1,523

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMGAWA View Post

Well that might have something to do with it.

It would seem safe to jump straight to that conclusion however my Panasonic has issues displaying rock solid images from my PC that I am yet to figure out, might be the same or a similar issue but I don't know yet. I'm not sure if this quiet Friday night in will be enough time to figure it all out.
Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
Quality effort tho.
Flathead_21 +

Registered User

Flathead_21's Avatar
Joined
Oct '04
Times thanked
< 240
Posts
11,757

Quote:

Originally Posted by NismoR31 View Post

that would be because VGA can't handle that amount of bandwidth

Had no issues at 1080p on my 5 year old Samsung.

But yeah already ordered an adapter to use hdmi
.



Gruso +

Gruso's Avatar
Joined
Aug '04
Times thanked
< 17,379
Posts
34,500
FYI my VGA -> HDMI -> VGA suggestion was a joke But if you bought an active converter you should be good.

Other news, this tip is golden for a HTPC: Normalize all sound output in Windows Vista (and higher)

Gruso learning obvious things

Also, soundcloud plugin is tops. Becy's face on my TV, lol. Yes I'm going to post excitedly about every tweak and plugin I find.

Last edited by Gruso: 30-Jun-12 at 11:52am

diarx +

mctte

diarx's Avatar
Joined
Feb '06
Times thanked
< 3,498
Posts
13,972
thanks for the tip, something I'd never considered!
Let Life Support and Dr Rudi do it right for you.
Reply

« Previous Thread Next Thread »

Posting Rules

+
    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts