Recording Help PLEASE!

Tools
luke_shire +

Times thanked
<
Recording Help PLEASE!
Hey All,

Heres the scenario.
I have 2 CDJ 400s and a CDJ 800, a DDM 4000 mixer and a mac book (intel based). I am a poor uni student and want to start recording some basic mixes.
After losing out on a Novation nio this morning. I am looking for at the behringer U Control.
Here come the questions.

1. Can I use the digital output on my mixer to connect to the digital output on the U control interface.
2. Will i be able to record through ableton?
3. Do i have to have any other cables other the the RCA's and the digital cable?

Any help with this would be greatly apprectiated.

Cheers.
FLUKE - D & W - BIZZO'S 31st OCT
twistedbydesign +

grokkin it over

Times thanked
<
fuck your questions

budget uni steez recording

garage band
new blank track
set mic source to audio in
RCA into audio in
record

no digi cable required
Beats
Worrying is using your imagination to create something you don't want
palaeo-tech +

: is not here.

Times thanked
<
^ also worth downloading Audacity as you'll at least be able to edit it if you want. It's free so no hassles there.
Peakin Pecan +

Good good

Times thanked
<
i use mixcraft4 or some shit... only thing ive ever known, and does the job fine.

it sounds like garage band is a winner if u have a mac, twisted seems like a fairly knowledgable dude...
DJ PEEKS

Oct 2009 SYMMETRY Promo
http://darkaudio.co.uk/index.php?p=y...48&traid=3268&

I'm Not Even Joking
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=T1D2X82J

ALF In PROG Form Mach II (Dom-less Edition)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SLYC24U3
sd88me +

Times thanked
<
I use audacity with the same setup as twisted described. Easy as and free.
mmc_79 +

Times thanked
<
What is the best way to set up audacity??? Because my recordings arnt very good quality...so I turned input volume rich down to around one but it still feels like it could be better.

.....or maybe it's my mixer ?
Bracko +

Times thanked
<