Listen: Maya Jane Coles returns to the Essential Mix

Ahead of what’s set to be another whirlwind European summer, house star Maya Jane Coles has returned to BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix. The DJ’s new session on Pete Tong’s long-running show finds her drawing from labels like Compost, Hypercolour, Superfreq and Amazing Records, alongside productions of her own. Check out set and tracklist below. Already the Londoner’s touring schedule is packed tight, with upcoming sets at Ushuaia’s opening party in Ibiza, Verboten Stageone in New York alongside Sasha, Chicago’s Wavefront Music Festival and the Eastern Electrics festival in the countryside outside London, in amongst one of the finest house and techno line-ups you’re going to find anywhere.

Coles will also release her debut album in July. She’s signed with Kobalt’s Label Services to release her debut, titled Comfort, through her own I/AM/WE imprint. The producer has given some hints as to what to expect from the record. “I’ve always looped bits of my own vocals to add texture to my tracks,” Coles told Mixmag. “It’s only recently though that I’ve started writing full vocal tracks. It’s something I’ve always enjoyed doing but didn’t really include on my early EPs. There’s also a lot of guests on the album. It’s half guests and half my vocals and more fully-formed songs than club tracks.” Some of those guests include UK legend Tricky, Kim Ann Foxman of Hercules & Love Affair and inimitable Frenchie Miss Kittin.


01. The Poet – Rain On April (Yves Le Groove Mix) [OT RECORDS]

02. Joe Stawarz – Suite B [SOMA QUALITY RECORDINGS]

03. [a]pendics.shuffle – Heavy Burdens High feat. Blakkat (Safeword Remix) [ADJUNCT AUDIO]

04. Deep Guys – Roomba (Oceanic Mix) [OT RECORDS]

05. Francesco Rossi – Paper Aeroplane feat. JS & A [D:VISION]

06. Linus Quick – There Shall Be Light (Mike Maass Remix) [WAYWARD MUSIC]

07. [unknown] – Unknown

08. Anonym – I Can’t [VAKANT]

09. Jordan Lieb – Dreams From The Ghetto [SUPERFREQ]

10. P. Wiltshire – Closer [HYPERCOLOUR]

11. Nick Galemore – Pt. 1 [KINDISCH]

12. Maya Jane Coles – Everything feat. Karin Park [I/AM/ME]

13. Rodriguez Jr. – Satellite [MOBILEE]

14. Nana K. – Old’s Cool [RECOVERY TECH]

15. Weltenwandler – Departure [ELECTROPHIL RECORDS]

16. Mad_Us – Hypnoze (Luca Bear Remix) [ARMONIA]

17. Riva Starr & Rssll – Absence (Adam Port Remix) [SNATCH! RECORDS]

18. Marbert Rocel – Small Hours (Daniel Stefanik Remix) [COMPOST]

19. Juliano Silva – 1000 Miles [EON5]

20. LPZ – Council Fonk

21. Deetron – Out Of My Head feat. Ovasoul7 (KiNK Vocal Mix) [MUSIC MAN RECORDS]

22. Alex Piccini & Marka T – Suite Yourself [AMAZING RECORDS]

23. Gianni Amoroso – No Matter How Far [MORNING MOOD RECORDS]

24. Sivesgaard – In The Night (Blond:ish Remix) [EKLEKTISCH]

25. Frederick Alonso – 96 (Tech Mix) [STAB RECORDINGS]

26. Paul Mad – Undes (Alex Piccini remix) [DEEP BEEP RECORDS]

27. Ella Fitzgerald – Blue Skies (Maya Jane Coles Remix)

28. Knox – Fault [LAST NIGHT ON EARTH]