Playground Weekender announces 2012 line-up

Image for Playground Weekender announces 2012 line-up

If you’re a Playground Weekender believer, today is a big day. Six years old in 2012, the festival has announced the roll-call of names headed for Del Rio Resort in the early days of March. To add an extra shade of awesome, inthemix is proud to present next year’s festivities.

So who’s on the 2012 line-up? As previously announced, the mainstage will be getting a disco education from the mighty Chic, and they’ll be accompanied by perfect-for-Playground acts like Fat Freddys Drop and Roots Manuva. A big cheer, too, for the addition of Modeselektor live in their first visit for several years and UNKLE Sounds, the new audio-visual DJ show from James Lavelle. Debuted at the Reading and Leeds festivals this year, UNKLE Sounds covers original material from the outfit’s career plus remixes of and remixes by Lavelle and co.

As ever, the electronic contingent is geared towards a cracking Weekender, with ambient masters The Orb, the DJ’s DJ Greg Wilson, bass-benders like Hudson Mohawke and Rustie and late-night tech-house specialists Lee Burridge and Damian Lazarus. With such a fine line-up locked in, now all that’s left to consider is your fancy dress get-up for Saturday.

After taking punters’ feedback into consideration, the festival has implemented a few changes for 2012. The Big Top (where the dancing happens) is moving to another event space and the space next to the campsite will house more relaxed activities like the cinema, cabaret, beer garden and yoga. There will also be a ferry ticket system to avoid lengthy queues, more drinking water on-site and other changes – keep up to date on those at the Playground Weekender website.

Tickets and accommodation will go on sale on Thursday 17 November.

Playground Weekender 2012 line-up:

Chic feat. Nile Rogers
Fat Freddy’s Drop
Boy and Bear
Roots Manuva
UNKLE Sounds
Modeselektor Live
Manchester Orchestra
Ariel Pinks Haunted Graffiti
Bonobo Live
Neon Indian
Lanie Lane
The Orb
Bomb The Bass
Greg Wilson
Damian Lazarus
Cuban Brothers
Hudson Mohawke
Lee Burridge
Art Department
Danny Daze
Kirk Degorgio
Northeast Party House
Elizabeth Rose


Comments arrow left

i_have_ADD said on the 10th Nov, 2011



djtoki said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Great Line-up, very impressed so far


ratticus said on the 10th Nov, 2011

So much good stuff, Modeselektor, Roots Manuva, HudMo, Rustie, The Orb and KIRK FUCKING DEGIORGIO, LIKE WHUT?!

Dexter Ramone

Dexter Ramone said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Lots of good stuff to ensure I'm there again!


girders said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Amazing, gonna be another great weekend at Del Rio


girders said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Gonna be another great weekend at Del Rio


JackT said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Damn tidy line-up innit - Greg Wilson is the perfect Weekender booking

Dr Bones

Dr Bones said on the 10th Nov, 2011

Christ Jesus. And to think I said I wasn't going back to Playground.


daverh said on the 10th Nov, 2011

That's a great lineup on all fronts.

Its Zyzz

Its Zyzz said on the 11th Nov, 2011

wheres mo fukn zany? and noise controllers?


33brownbear said on the 11th Nov, 2011

if Art Department do not do a sideshow in melbourne im splitting skulls.


tylerj23 said on the 11th Nov, 2011

Bonobo Live sideshow plz plz plz


Mike-O-Sito said on the 11th Nov, 2011

hmmm Modeselektor... kinda have to go now haha


johnnyfarrugia said on the 12th Nov, 2011

Melbourne sideshows!!!!!!!!!!!


luvbits said on the 13th Nov, 2011

RT: Bonobo Live sideshow plz plz plz


LePov said on the 22nd Nov, 2011

This thread needs more hype! Best Playground line-up to date - and they've made some serious effort to sort out the ferry situation.

Can't wait. The tepee village 2012 will be our coolest yet - looking forward to see you there!


Homegrown said on the 28th Nov, 2011

Really pumped for Rebel Rave all day Sat going to be insane........