Ricardo Villalobos announces new album, ‘Dependent and Happy’

Image for Ricardo Villalobos announces new album, ‘Dependent and Happy’

As reported by distributor Word & Sound and picked up on by Resident Advisor, enigmatic Chilean superstar Ricardo Villalobos is gearing up to release a new long-player, cheekily-named Dependent and Happy. The 12-inch package is divided into three parts with a total of 14 new tracks, plus there’s a CD version that’s trimmed of three of the productions. Dependent and Happy comes out on Perlon, the Berlin-based imprint run by Zip and Markus Nikolai. Villalobos and Perlon go way back, with the label releasing a string of the producer’s EPs and Zip occasionally joining Villalobos for back-to-back DJ sets.

In 2011, Villalobos teamed up with Max Loderbauer for the Re: ECM album; a departure from the dancefloor that saw the pair remaking pieces from the back catalogue of jazz and classical label ECM. The end result was subtle and understated, but Dependent and Happy could see the four-four pulse returning – albeit with its creator’s distinctively unconventional touch. Word & Sound is taking pre-orders for Dependent and Happy.

Villalobos will have plenty of opportunities to air his new handiwork across the European summer. The DJ is back with his Ibiza friends at Sven Vath’s Cocoon Heroes residency, and he’s sure to pop up elsewhere on the White Isle, playing after-hours sets to other happily-dependent types. His stints at Cocoon happen alongside the likes of Cassy, Loco Dice and Raresh, with a marathon closing party planned for October. He’s also doing some sets with Zip in Greece and the U.K., so the Perlon love-in continues.

A1 Tu Actitud
B1 Timemorf
C1 Grumax
C2 I’m Counting
D1 Das Leben Ist So Anders Ohne Dich
D2 Mochnochich

E1 Zuipox
F1 Kehaus
F2 Die Schwarze Massai
G1 Put Your Lips
H1 Samma
H2 Ferenc

I1 Defixia
J1 Koito

01. Mochnochich
02. Timemorf
03. Grumax
04. Ferenc
05. I’m Counting
06. Put Your Lips
07. Samma
08. Tu Actitud
09. Zuipox
10. Koito
11. Die Schwarze Massa