Rejoice, the new Flying Lotus album is 18 tracks deep

Image for Rejoice, the new Flying Lotus album is 18 tracks deep

One of electronic music’s most mercurial talents, Flying Lotus is no slouch at making albums. The L.A.-based producer made one of the most-celebrated albums of 2010 with Cosmogramma, and this October he returns to the long-player format with Until The Quiet Comes. This is no fly-by effort, either, with 18 tracks making the cut. Cosmogramma guest Niki Randa is back on Getting There, fellow Brainfeeder alchemist Thundercat assists on the intriguingly-titled DMT Song, while regular FlyLo collaborator Laura Darlington lends her touch too.

Back in August 2011 in an interview with The Wall Street Journal, Erykah Badu revealed she’s “making an album right now with a guy named Flying Lotus”. She appears on Until The Quiet Comes with See Thru to U, but it’s still unclear whether the soulstress and the beatmaker have more to come. FlyLo has also signed up a guy you might know by the name of Thom Yorke. The Radiohead frontman has been immersed in moody bass music for a while now. Yorke appeared on Cosmogramma cut ...And The World Laughs With You, and is an avowed fan of Flying Lotus.

At the recent Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago, Rolling Stone had a chat about the album with its creator. “I feel like I had this maximalist mentality going into the last one, but with this one now I feel like I don’t have a problem holding back on some moments, so bigger moments can shine through,” FlyLo said. Rolling Stone also asked how he adapts to being on festival bills around the world with ‘EDM’ players. “I feel like the odd man out sometimes, musically,” he admits, “because the stuff I tend to produce is a little bit more for your headphones as opposed to the rave.” Until the Quiet Comes is due out 2 October; stay tuned for Australian release details.

Until the Quiet Comes tracklist:

1. All In
2. Getting There (feat. Niki Randa)
3. Until the Colours Come
4. Heave(n)
5. Tiny Tortures
6. All the Secrets
7. Sultans Request.
8. Putty Boy Strut
9. See Thru to U (feat. Erykah Badu)
10. Until the Quiet Comes
11. DMT Song (feat. Thundercat)
12. The Nightcaller
13. Only if You Wanna
14. Electric Candyman (feat. Thom Yorke)
15. Hunger (feat. Niki Randa)
16. Phantasm (feat. Laura Darlington)
17. me Yesterday//Corded
18. Dream to Me

Comments arrow left