Your Shot nears its grand finale

Image for Your Shot nears its grand finale

The DJ competition Your Shot is nearing its climactic finale, with the announcement of Step Brothers (Joseph Richter, Keet Miller, and Tyson Burnett) as winners of the Sydney round over the weekend. The bass-heavy trio battled it out on Sunday against three other finalists at the Greenwood Hotel, with over 4,000 people coming to watch the action unfold across two days. The other finalists were Matt Scott, DJ Rodman and Genevieve Collier (Genie), whom the judges said they had considerable trouble choosing between.

Step Brothers join Brisbane winners Boats & Hoes, and the Victoria winner (to be decided this coming weekend) to play at Stereosonic in their respective cities later in the year. The three state winners will then face off against each other by online poll to claim the grand prize of DJing at Europe’s iconic Paradise Club in Mykonos.

Your Shot is an ever-growing annual DJ competition, with a unique focus on providing people with no prior DJing experience a life-changing break in the club scene. More than 4,500 young hopefuls met up for interview rounds this year across the East Coast. From each state, 72 were selected who then underwent six weeks of intensive DJ training. Now in its third year, things look like they aren’t slowing down any for the competition.

Co-founder Sam Koratkov had this to say about the initiative: “DJ competitions have always focused on DJs with experience. That leaves out a huge market of young guys and girls – the same people that fill to 50,000+ festivals all over Australia – who dream of becoming DJs. ‘Your Shot’ gives them the opportunity to learn the skills and become DJs capable of playing at clubs and festivals all over the country. Unlike singers or dancers born with great voices or co-ordination, many of these kids aren’t aware of the talent they have. We’re just happy that we­ can help them realise it.”

The Victoria state final will be held at the Royal Melbourne Hotel on August 11 and 12. The three winning sets will be posted to for online voting, opening after the Melbourne final.