Funk D’Void's ‘Balance 022’ tour announced

Image for Funk D’Void's ‘Balance 022’ tour announced

Glaswegian house and techno specialist Funk D’Void is a pretty perfect match for the esteemed Balance mix-CD series. On 28 September, we’ll get to wrap our ears around his double-disc effort, the 22nd entry in the catalogue. He’s no stranger to the mix-CD format, having spearheaded volumes for Cocoon and Soma. “My inspiration for Balance 022 stems from listening to the Back To Mine compilation series of the previous decade,” he says in the press notes. “A particular memory was imprinted on me from a long car journey back from the beach with friends when we listened to one of the releases without speaking for two hours, completely lost in the whole magic of the day together.” The tracklistings for both discs look on-point, which should come as no surprise.

“I didn’t want too many of the latest hottest tracks in the mix,” he continues in the introduction to his compilation, “so I basically made a selection of moments that have had the biggest impact on me and attempted to weave them into a cohesive structure that might connect on the same level that I had experienced them. Every track has been edited by me so I wasn’t held back by overlong arrangements built for the club, opting instead for the immediate impact that could still be attained as one body of work.”

We’ve seen Funk D’Void in our clubs on a number of occasions, and he’s set to tour Balance 022 in October. “I’ve fallen back in love with more edgy grooves,” the man otherwise known as Lars Sandberg told us in 2010. “It’s refreshing to bounce back and forth from genres. I’m a sucker for the deepness though. There’s never a linear form to my sets, and they take a lot out of me every time.” His DJ sets tend to show off both his personalities as Funk D’Void and his deeper twin Francois Dubois, and he’s got decades of experience to draw on.

Tour Dates:

Oct 19 – Melbourne, Brown Alley
Oct 20 – Sydney, Chinese Laundry
Oct 21 – Brisbane, Subtrakt 5th Birthday @ Coniston Lane


1. Hawkinson “Introduction (Funk D’Void remix)”
2. Monty Luke “Yesterday & Today”
3. Los Hermanos “Olmec My Brother”
4. Chris Malinchak “Razor”
5. Peter Dildo “Lucky Punch”
6. Arkist “Effingham PL” EXCLUSIVE
7. Tonka “Orca (dub)”
8. Mike Acetate “Elevate (Shur-I-Kan & Milton Jackson remix)”
9. Soy Mustafa “Return Of The Annunaki (John Tejada Cinematic Edit)”
10. Moodymanc “Talker (Drum dub mix)”
11. Exercise One & Mathew Jonson “Lost Forever In A Happy Crowd”
12. Guy Andrews “Confuted” EXCLUSIVE
13. Delano Smith “Wires”
14. Sam Matters “Weight Off My Mind”
15. Chymera “The Chase (Steve Rachmad Edit)”
16. Jesper Dahlback “Nyhus Part Two”
17. Pezzner “Only With Your Eyes”
18. Spirit Catcher “Sedona (Andre Lodemann remix)”
19. Vincent I. Watson “A Very Different World (Funk D’Void remix)”
20. Tony Lionni “Loving You”
21. Funk D’Void “Diabla (Psycatron Unreleased remix)” EXCLUSIVE

1. A Lucid Nation “Suspended On Air”
2. Kolombo “Waiting For”
3. Lee Webster “Delve” EXCLUSIVE
4. Pat Metheny “Electric Counterpoint (Fast)”
5. Lovebirds “Running Backwards”
6. Space Dimension Controller “Journey To The Core Of The Unknown Sphere”
7. Martin Patino “Hommage (Joash Remix)”
8. Outmode “Dark Journey (Toby Tobias’ Journey to the Light Remix)”
9. Vincent I. Watson “Celtic Beauty”
10. Joash “Assassin (Funk D’Void Remix)”
11. Joris Voorn “RE-2001” EXCLUSIVE
12. Chaser “Bite The Bullet (Francois Dubois Remix)”
13. Tom Ellis “Go Through Me”
14. DJ Profile “Can U Sing”
15. Rhythm Maker “Alles Mainstream”
16. Patrice Scott “Tones & Things”
17. Robert Babicz “Out Of Order (Rob Acid Version)”
18. Soundstream “Makin Love”
19. Blackman “Headroom”
20. Phil Kieran “Prism”
21. The Reboot Joy Confession “1999”
22. Wasted Gaze “Untitled State Of Mind”
23. Francois Dubois “Sweet Spot”
24. Dennis DeSantis “You Say”