Sven Vath and Richie Hawtin release Ibiza collaboration

Image for Sven Vath and Richie Hawtin release Ibiza collaboration

In 2000, Sven Vth opened a night at Amnesia in Ibiza, utilising the talent signed to his Cocoon booking agency. The club night, called Cocoon, featured a selection of leading DJs and live acts and with a 20-strong team on the Island, the First Season was highly successful. Cocoon featured a music policy based on quality techno and house music.

A compilation ‘The Sound of the First Season’ was released on Sven’s label Cocoon Recordings. The following season grew massively and ‘The Sound of the Second Season’, the Double CD that followed, showcased the crucial tunes of the ‘Noche’ at the club, plus the by-now legendary Cocoon after parties.

And so to 2002: Sven and Richie Hawtin hatched a collaborative plot, whereby Hawtin would be ‘unofficial’ resident at Cocoon for the 2002 Season guesting at 4 of the clubs’ mammoth 14 week Monday night run at Amnesia, including the climactic Closing Party in September. The CD release to accompany this run ‘Cocoon Club Ibiza: The Sound of the Third Season’ features both Sven and Richie in the mix together showcasing the top tunes from the 2002 season at the club. Released here on 4th November it aims to encapsulate the experience of being at Cocoon by including conversations and sound effects, capturing the excitement and euphoria of actually being at the club. With a 2002 residence that has featured Sven, Richie, Anthony Rother, Pascal FEOS, Alter Ego, DJ Hell, Vitalic, Marco Carola, Ricardo Villalobos, John Acquaviva, Funk D’Void, Josh Wink, Green Velvet and Tobi Neumann, Cocoon 2002 has proved itself to be THE club on the Island.


1. Reinhard Voigt – Speicher 2 – Kompakt

2. Tony Rohr – Baile Conmigo – Macintosh Music

3. Dirty – Dirty (E-Dancer Remix Redit) – Junior Boys Own

4. Renato Cohen – Pontape – Intec

5. DJ Shufflemaster – Play Back – Prime

6. Slam – Step Back (Christian Smith Remix) – Soma

7. Technasia – Acid Storm – Sino Music

8. Sven Vath – Steel (Marco Carola Remix) – Cocoon

9. Koenig Cylinders – 99.9 (John Selway Remix) – Neuton

10. Shari Vari – Number of Names – International DJ Gigalos

11. John Starlight – Blood Angels – Superstar

12. Legowelt – Disco Rout – Ghostly

13. Swayzak – Make Up Your Mind – !K7

14. Wessling & Schrom – Donauwellen – Boxer

15. Ricardo Villalobos – What You Say Is More Than I Would Say – Ongaku

16. Reinhard Voigt – Recht Erst Jetzt (Side A) – Kompakt

And for all you Richie fans out there, here’s a link to a Richie Hawtin screensaver. Click here to download it now!

Comments arrow left