The 2013 inthemix Awards results are in!

Right now, Australia’s dance music industry is in the thick of celebrations at Sydney’s Doltone House. The results of the 2013 inthemix Awards are in, the winners have been crowned and the after-party is about to kick off. So, the verdict? For the third year running, Gold Coast kings the Stafford Brothers have claimed the top spot.

The win comes off the back of what’s proven to be the Staffords’ biggest year yet. The boys made headlines in December when they became the first EDM act to ever be signed to legendary hip-hop stable Cash Money Records, the signing seeing them quickly hook up with labelmates Lil Wayne and Christina Milian for the twice-Platinum single Hello. On top of the historic signing, the brothers have also kept busy mixing Future Entertainment’s compilation release Future Sound of Summer 2013 and touring relentlessly both in Australia and abroad.

But the Staffords weren’t only act with an avalanche of public votes in the DJ category. Coming in at #2 is Will Sparks, the Melbourne Sound sensation making his debut appearance in the inthemix National Top 50 in epic style. Rounding out the top five is Staffords offsider Timmy Trumpet at #3, trance gun MaRLo at #4 and Canberra hitmakers Peking Duk at #5. So what else stands out strongly in this year’s results? 2013’s seen the ascent of the ladies. Coming at #12 is Sydney’s Tigerlily, with Havana Brown, Alison Wonderland, Girl Audio and Keesh all also gracing the Top 50.

There was one other very important part of tonight’s ceremony. This year, in lieu of the industry-voted Most Influential Person award, we paid a special tribute to late dance legend Ajax presented by his fellow Bang Gang cohort Beni.

The public-voted Favourite Major Festival title was again taken by Stereosonic, with Future Music Festival named runner-up. It was hard dance extravaganza Defqon.1 that won Favourite Event, while trance don Armin van Buuren reclaimed his Favourite International DJ mantle back from this year’s runner-up, superstar Swede Avicii.

Just as it did in 2012, this year the inthemix Awards includes a host of industry-voted categories. A panel of industry leaders voted Will Sparks Breakthrough Artist of the Year, with the award for Best Track/Remix going to Tommy Trash for his Sebastian Ingrosso collaboration Reload. Future Classic success story Flume took home two gongs: Best Live Act and Best Album for his self-titled debut.

But of course, that’s only skimming the surface of what went on at the 2013 inthemix Awards – head to the awards site now for the full story.